Children’s Tea Party

There was a table set under a tree in front of the house, and the March hare and the Hatter were having tea at it: a Dormouse was sitting between them, fast asleep, and the other two were using it as a cushion resting their elbows on it, and talking over its head. “Very uncomfortable for the Dormouse,” thought Alice, “only, as it’s asleep, I suppose it doesn’t mind.”

(From A Mad Tea-Party from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll)

I love tea as long as I can remember. It was customary in my house with my parents and sisters when I was growing up, in the afternoon around 4 or 5 pm, we’d have some tea. Just tea, without cookies or cakes to accompany it. I was maybe 8 or 9 years old, the first time I helped my mother making some tea for our family. I learned how to strain the tea and to measure the sugar. The tea aroma filled the air in our kitchen, a sign that the day was almost over and it’s time to rest. After I have family of my own, that tradition suddenly halted and rarely happened. I never had a relax afternoon with tea anymore. When I had my tea, it would be at night while watching tv after a long day. I prefer teas from Indonesia because it’s thick and fragrant. I don’t like green tea like Japanese tea that’s bitter or teas mixed with spices, like cardamom, clove or cinnamon like the one from India. I love teas mixed with spearmint, but prefer not to sip any teas with fruits, but lemon. Sometimes I added milk with my tea, but rarely.

With many kind of teas, which one is your favorite?


CHILDREN'S TEA PARTY

Leave a Reply

