Kitchen’s Diary: Curry Beef in Baked Paratha Pocket

Who knew, a girl who didn’t want to step in the kitchen or had anything to do with cooking, could create a recipe. My mother was amazed, of course. She said,”Who knew, you can cook.” That was me then, always avoiding being in the kitchen to help my mother. But when I got married, my husband prefers home cooked meal (of course) and he actually bought some Indonesian cooking books. Years pass and I can say I’m pretty good in the kitchen and who knew, some days I even created my own recipe.

One of my recipe creation inspired by a special food called “martabak” (read: mar-thu-buck). In Indonesia martabak is sold by street vendors under the tents or on food carriages. One day when I was shopping at our regular Asian market, I saw Paratha breads, that look similar to flat bread or pitta bread. A light bulb turned on in my head, so instead of using thin skin for martabak (similar to spring roll skin), I use Paratha bread. You should try my recipe, because it’s so good, it becomes my family’s favorite food.

INGREDIENTS:

– 1 big onion (Vidalia or Spanish), cut into small pieces

– 3 cloves of garlic, smashed and finely minced

– 1 or 2 pounds of ground beef (2 pounds make 10 Paratha pockets)

– 1 or 2 packets of Paratha breads (each pack consists of 5 – 2 pounds beef require 2 packets)

– 2 table spoons of curry powder

– 1 bunch of scallions, cut in pieces

– 2 eggs, beaten (no egg is also fine)

– salt and pepper to taste

– cooking oil

HOW TO COOK:

Mix ground beef with the curry powder, salt and pepper. Put it aside for 2 hours.

Prepare the oven to bake for 350F.

In a large pan or wok, drizzle some cooking oil on medium heat. Put some onions and stir, then garlic. Stir until the onions and garlic smell nice.

Place the ground beef into the pan and stir. Add a little bit of  some salt and pepper. Cook thoroughly until all blended.

Meanwhile in a large bowl, beat the eggs. Put the curry beef into the bowl and add the scallions. Mix together well.

Take 1 sheet of Paratha bread, put about 2 table spoons of curry beef in the middle. Fold the bread like so to look like a pocket or envelope.

Line baking tray with aluminum foil and place the folded Paratha bread. Each tray should only consists of 5.

Bake the pockets for about 45 minutes or until the Paratha breads look flaky and light brown.

Enjoy the Curry Beef in Paratha Pocket as a snack or meal.

 
Curry ground beef, onion, scalion & egg

Martabak Panggang (Beef Curry in Paratha Pocket)

One thought on “Kitchen’s Diary: Curry Beef in Baked Paratha Pocket

  1. Thanks for the insightful post.

Leave a Reply

