The Trumpeter

My children’s music school recently celebrated its centennial birthday. We had a lot of performances to celebrate it and my children involved in one of them. During one of the performance, their music teacher performed and I took his picture. I just love his expression playing his trumpet.

 

The Trumpeter

I blew, I blew, the trumpet loudly sounding;
I blew, I blew, the heart within me bonding;
The world was fresh and fair, yet dark with wrong,
And men stood forth to conquer at the song–
I blew! I blew! I blew!
 
The field is won, the minstrels loud are crying,
And all the world is peace, and I am dying.
Yet this forgotten life was not in vain;
Enough if I alone recall the strain,
I blew! I blew! I blew!
 

-Thomas Wentworth Higginson (1823-1911)-

The Trumpeter

Leave a Reply

