Kitchen’s Diary: Steamed Fish With Pla Tu Chili Paste

Steamed fish

Steamed Fish with Pla Tu Paste

I felt like cheating a couple of days ago during times when I felt “blah”. So instead of making my own chili paste, I used the jarred chili paste. Then again, it’s because my husband bought 19 pieces of whiting fish and I wanted to cook them differently. I fried some of them with spiced flour the days before, and I thought it would be a good idea to steam the rest of the fish. In Indonesian recipe (although the chili paste is Thai’s), we usually use banana leave when steaming some fish. But because I didn’t have any, I steamed the fish using an oven-safe glass dish. If you love Thai food, perhaps you’d like to try this one your self.

 

Ingredients:

– Pla Tu chili paste in a jar ( I used 3 – 4 tablespoons)

– 4 -5 Pieces of Whiting fish ( I used the headless whiting fish that I cut off their tails and trimmed their spiky fins)

– 2 Tomatoes

– 3 Bay leaves

– Olive oil

– Salt

– Oven-safe glass dish

– Aluminum foil

 

How To Cook:

Heat the oven to 375 degree Fahrenheit.

In a glass dish drizzle some olive oil. Place the fish (I cooked 4 – 5 pieces at a time) on the dish and rub them with some olive oil. Put some salt on the fish and rub them with it.

Put some Pla Tu chili paste on top of the fish and all over.

Cut some tomatoes in crescent-like shaped. You can discard the seeds, if you like.

Place some bay leaves on top of the fish.

Cover the dish with aluminum foil and cut 2 small holes with scissors or forks for the steam release.

Cook in about 50 minutes.

 

Steamed Fish with Pla Tu Chili

Leave a Reply

