Kitchen’s Diary: Fried Turkey Wonton

I was thinking one day, that I wanted to try making wonton with turkey instead of shrimp or chicken. Since everybody was buzzing about the Chinese new year, I thought it’s a perfect inspiration for cooking some Chinese food. My oldest daughter was ecstatic helping me folding the wontons, while I did other chores. As soon as I was done frying the first batch, the wontons were quickly gone. Everybody was loving them!

Ingredients:

  • 1 – 2 pounds of ground turkey
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 4 – 5 stalks of scallions or green onions
  • about 2 tablespoons of Worcester sauce
  • wonton wrappers
  • a tablespoon of flour and water (make into paste to close the wrapper)
  • salt and pepper

How to Make:

  1. Smash some garlic finely and then mince.
  2. Chop the scallions finely.
  3. In a bowl, combine the ground turkey, chopped scallions, garlic, salt and pepper, also Worcester sauce. Mix them together and set aside for about 2 hours.
  4. With a tablespoon, place some mixed ground turkey into wonton wrapper. Wet the edges with the flour paste and close it. Continue until the meat is all used up.
  5. Prepare a frying pan on a medium heat. Fry the wonton until golden brown.

(Note: have some fried turkey wonton with the mix of soy sauce with chili sauce or ketchup with chili sauce. I ate the wontons with some soup. It’s perfect for winter.)

 

Fried Turkey Wonton

2 thoughts on “Kitchen’s Diary: Fried Turkey Wonton

  1. Now I see the “wonton” we talked about last night, look much better than I thought, I should give ti a try. 🙂
    Enjoy look at your photos and read the story behind it, you sure have a colorful life!

Leave a Reply

