Yesterday, When Rainbow Appeared

Yesterday was so hot and humid, I felt like melting my skin off. I stunk. Even when I sprayed on some perfume, I still stunk. Suddenly a lightning stroke once, twice then many times. Summer sky was blue no more. Then the rain poured lazily, tap…tap…tap. Some breeze got inside our home through the open windows, bringing the smell of hot air and wet ground. Although grey was still hanged around, the sun perked up a little bit trying to peek behind the clouds. Suddenly my daughter exclaimed,”There’s a rainbow!” And it was, the only colorful object in the sky. It arched directly across our house, like our own rainbow. “I wish there’s a real pot of gold at the end of a rainbow”, my daughter said. Indeed there was, my dear, the heat wave has passed.

Leave a Reply

