Sketches of Three Young Musicians

I love to draw and since last year, I’ve become more passionately drawing almost every week, whenever I found my self with nothing to do. This “nothing to do” part is not entirely correct, though. Because at that time, I usually were waiting for my son or daughter, while they practice together with their music ensemble or teacher. All our three children play music instruments. For 30 to 45 minutes I would try to find something to do to occupy my mind, and still paying attention at my kid. Some mothers or fathers who also were waiting, would do their works with their laptop, some were reading or helping their other kids occupied. I was busy drawing.

When I was little, I wanted to draw lots of people. But they never looked as if the were real. I thought to draw people was hard. Then one Saturday, in my son’s ensemble class, I picked up a pencil and started to sketch. My main object was a boy called, Sam, my son’s mate. I was happy with it, and planned to draw more. Then the next week, I drew another kid in the class, a girl named Charlotte who played violin. At the third week, I thought I might try to draw my son. He’s been playing recorder since he was 5 years old, and through my drawing, I might be able to capture how he’s been so far.

Sketch of A Recorder Player

After that, several weeks later, I drew my younger daughter, while she was practicing with her guitar ensemble. Some Sunday could be so boring, when I had to wait for an hour for it. My tiredness seemed multiplying by the time Sunday arrived. So to get away from boredom, I drew again. This was my first attempt to draw my daughter playing guitar. Though, when she saw it, she said that the girl on the drawing didn’t look like her, I was proud of it. I thought, I’ve succeeded catching the essence of my daughter playing guitar.

Sketch of A Guitar Player

It only makes sense, that I should draw all my kids while they were playing their instruments. My oldest’ turn came during her violin group class.¬† She was standing before me, practicing with them, and I had a huge inspiration. The music that they played, adding such a rush to my mind, that I just draw this, and that, and after several minutes, there she was, my oldest daughter with her hair on a bun, holding her violin, on my sketch book. She looked so tall and mature. It seemed through the drawings, I’ve recorded the way my children are today, and how they’ve grown up so far better than capturing them with a camera. It’s a little bit of nostalgia for me, who’s been involved with the many parts of bringing up three wonderful young musicians since the beginning.
Sketch of A Violin Player

Leave a Reply

