Day 6 B&W: The Lake

There is a lake – but I forget its name,
that flickers in my memory like flame!
 
Guarded by Dolomites whose magic glow
Of red primeval merges into snow.
 
A lake so beautiful, God gave it birth
By melting one vast emerald on earth!
 
And as with lovely sound the air may fill,
Though chords are hushed and all the strings be still,
 
So will this lake – but I forget its name-
Flicker within my memory like flame!
 

Eleanour Norton

I know the picture is not a picture of a lake, but I love the poem and the picture side by side. I took the picture of Triphammer Falls during our spring break vacation to Ithaca in Upstate New York this year. The falls were simply amazing and I can’t wait to visit more falls there.

Triphammer Falls - Ithaca

Leave a Reply

