I See the Moon and the Moon Sees Me

Ecstatic, that’s what I felt when I read an article about the coming lunar eclipse. I’ve never seen one before, even though one happened but it seemed that it never reached where we live or I simply didn’t realize it happened. So, I was anticipating the event and told the kids to be aware around 9 PM, because that’s when the lunar eclipse would start. We were watching TV and by the time I looked at the clock, it was 10 after 9. I looked out our window and there it was, the eclipse has started. We were quite fortunate to be able to watch the whole process of the lunar eclipse, from the beginning until it subsided after midnight. I wanted so much to take some pictures of the eclipse, thinking that that was the perfect time to shape-up my photography technique. At first, I climbed my work table, with one leg on the table and the other on the window ledge (it’s dangerous, I knew that). I tried to maneuver my camera outside the window while not holding unto it. After a while, I moved to our balcony, which is in the front part of our house and lo and behold, the view was just mesmerizing (and I didn’t have to cling on the ledge). While taking some pictures of the eclipse, suddenly I teared up. My son asked me why I was crying and I told him I was so happy to see this spectacular event. The kids and I watched for sometimes , even my son insisted to do his homework on the porch so not to miss the eclipse.

Notes:

The tittle of this journal was inspired by  a nursery rhyme that my kids used to listen to when they were little.

I see the Moon and the Moon sees me,
And the moon sees the one that I can’t see.
God Bless the Moon and God Bless me,
And God Bless the one that I can’t see.

lunar-eclipse1

lunar-eclipse

lunar-eclipse2

lunar-eclipse3

lunar-eclipse4

Leave a Reply

